The White House.

There isn’t any place which I can describe as my home. Generally parent’s house is your house and it automatically gives you a feeling of home but it’s not the same for me. Maybe because I have spent 22 years of my life in rented houses.

And growing up I stopped taking interest in my hometown. I have changed 9 rented houses and it’s terrible to pack and set up everything again and again. Rented houses can never give you a feeling like a home but yes you develop memories living in there. Anytime the landlord can ask you to leave, tenants have to pack. You just don’t leave a room, you leave a whole society that was familiar to you. But what about the good time you spent there and miss everything when you move can be seen in Ruskin Bonds ‘room on the roof’.

I am living in a similar room that is on the roof.
But again the landlord has asked us to leave.
I have been living her for 3 years now, I will be missing this place.

You must be thinking why I am so fixated on rooms but I don’t like changes. I think most of us don’t. Humans build houses and make them their homes. Try to be nice in the society they are living in. Get acquainted with the nearby places and grow old there. Like all territorial animals do.

So I have reached an age and now I don’t think this change is suiting me well. But I can’t build a house overnight so after finishing my shift At night I sit near the terrace and look at all the houses that are down there. My eyes stop whenever I see that White House. It is very near to this building a 3-story house. means several rooms. Open rooftop, perfect to enjoy monsoon and winter. Open galleries. Safe community.
For me, that’s an ideal home. I wish I could have such a home one day. But I will paint everything in blue. Black is my first choice but don’t want to attract human eyes. I will have to work my day and night to fulfill this. Given the country’s condition, there is a chance this will remain a dream forever but I should try at least.

©Dhruv

Leave a comment